Search is on for Wales’ Top Directors

23/01/2017 Pics (C) Huw John, Cardiff. MANDATORY BYLINE - Huw John, Cardiff Robert Lloyd Griffiths OBE Director – Wales Institute of Directors (C) HUW JOHN, CARDIFF e-mail: Web: Twitter: @huwjohnpics

Business leaders across Wales have until Friday to enter the IoD Wales Director of the Year Awards 2017, which include additional categories this year.

The awards, now in their seventh year, have become an established highlight on the Welsh business calendar and celebrate business achievements and inspirational leaders across Wales while bringing all sectors of the business community together, irrespective of size, geography and longevity.

Additional categories in HR; Finance and Start-up Business, have been added to this year’s awards, meaning that directors have 10 categories to choose from.

Winners from the Welsh regional awards, which are once again sponsored by Cardiff Business School, are forwarded for the IoD National awards which culminate in an Awards Lunch in London in the autumn.

Last year, Welsh winners Elin Wyn, business lecturer and Chair of Chapter; Peter Thomas, MD of Contract Services Group; Jeff Farrar, Chief Constable of Gwent Police and David Gray, Managing Director of TB Davies ladders specialists, represented Wales at the UK finals.

The deadline for entries is this Friday April 7th, with winners announced at the awards lunch on Friday, May 19th at Cardiff’s SSE SWALEC Stadium.

Robert Lloyd Griffiths, Director of Institute of Directors in Wales said: “The profile of these awards continues to exceed expectations as they attract entries from the very best in Wales.

“We live in a world where there is much uncertainty and where challenges arise on a daily basis but I am always impressed by the tenacity, enthusiasm and sheer dogged determination of Directors and senior executives in organisations of all sizes and in all sectors; these awards offer a terrific way of highlighting and acknowledging talent, best practice and achievement across Wales.

“My thanks go to our principal sponsor – Cardiff Business School and to all our category sponsors.”

Categories include: Director of the Year – Social Enterprise (sponsored by Legal & General); Director of the Year – Public Sector (sponsored by Academi Wales); Director of the Year – Small Business; Director of the Year – Medium / Large Business ( Director of the Year – Family Business (sponsored by RMS); Young Director of the Year (sponsored by Tidal Lagoon, Swansea Bay plc); Director of the Year – Leadership in Corporate Responsibility (sponsored by Welsh Government); Director of the Year – HR (sponsored by Acorn Executive Search); Director of the Year – Finance; Director of the Year – Start-up Business.

Professor Martin Kitchener, Dean of Cardiff Business School said: “As a School, we are proud to participate in this annual celebration of excellence.

“Each year, I am inspired by the innovation, creativity and ambition of the nominees and eagerly await the awards lunch to recognise the achievements and successes of Welsh businesses.

“Since becoming Dean of Cardiff Business School in October 2012, I have worked to enable and extend our contribution to the local economy, to our students, to the creation and development of knowledge, and to society as a whole.

“Our economic contribution is well documented, with recent analysis showing that we contribute over £200million to the local economy. Our teaching excellence has been recognised with a top 100 placement in the 2016-2017 Times Higher Education (THE) World University rankings, and our research output ranked 6th (out of 101 business schools) in the UK.

“We educate almost 3,000 students annually and produce work-ready, diligent and creative graduates who think differently and strive to provoke positive change to business practice and society. This is in line with our distinctive and progressive Public Value strategy, which focuses on promoting economic and social improvement through our teaching, research and governance.”

ITV Wales is media partner for the prestigious event and Effective Communication is PR partner.

Huw Rossiter, Public Affairs Manager at ITV Cymru Wales  said: “ITV Cymru Wales is delighted to once again be media partner to the IoD Director of the Year Awards. Business coverage is an important part of our news mix and we look forward to another successful event celebrating the very best in Welsh business.”

For an entry form and more details see or contact, 029 2038 9990. Closing date for nominations is February 28th and direct entries must be received by March 31st, with winners announced at the awards lunch on Friday, May 19th.